Call for Nominations – SSILA Archiving Award, in honor of Michael Krauss

SSILA is pleased to announce a call for nominations for the SSILA Archiving Award in honor of Ken Hale. This award highlights the importance of creating long-term archived materials that are accessible to all communities concerned, including heritage and source communities as well as scholarly communities. It is meant to encourage others in academia to value such work as more comparable to analytic research.

The award will be presented at the 2021 SSILA annual meeting. The deadline for receipt of nominations for the SSILA Archiving Award is September 15, 2020.

The award is presented to one or more researchers (from any community) who have created an accessible documentary collection of materials relating to an Indigenous language of the Americas. Taking each collection’s context and ethical protocols into account, please follow the instructions given in detail on the webpage for the SSILA Archiving Award in honor of Ken Hale.

This award may be shared by multiple creators of a single collection (including, for example, academic and non-academic researchers, primary language consultants, and collection curators).  The award is given to the creators of the collection, not the repository or archive. Nominations must be made by a member of SSILA. Self-nominations are permitted.

The nominating package should include

  • a letter of nomination identifying the nominee(s) (with curriculum vitae as appropriate), describing the background of their work on the language in question, and the archival collection (with links to online content and metadata, and a finding aid or descriptive overview), and explaining its quality and significance, and
  • one supporting letter also explaining the quality and significance of the archival collection.

If you have questions about the award, please direct them to Mary Linn ( To submit a nomination for the SSILA Archiving Award, send the nomination and letter of recommendation in PDF format by email to the SSILA Secretary. Please verify that it has in fact been received.

Nominations should be submitted to Mary Linn ( by September 15, 2020.

Updated: May 4, 2020 — 9:06 pm